[Skip to Content]

Welcome to the 2018 

Gabriel Awards

If you decide to share your work honoring the human spirit, you will be competing in the largest Catholic communicators’ award program in North America, judging over 2600 entries annually for journalists, book authors, students and now broadcasters. 

Recipients of a Gabriel Award receive a coveted Gabriel statuette.  The statuette is designed and produced by the same company that makes the “Oscar” for the Academy Awards. Winners are encouraged to attend the Gabriel Banquet to receive their award and be recognized by their peers.

The Catholic Press Association will list future Gabriel Award winners in the Catholic Journalist, on the CPA website and on the awards website as a gallery. For now, please click here to download a PDF file listing the 2017 winners

As you begin the entry process, there are a few changes in the entry portal, entry dates and pricing to review. 

1)  Participants will use the same entry platform, but will enter through the CPA portal moving forward.

2) New and returning participants must set up a new username and password. 

o   Visit https://catholicpress.secure-platform.com/a/solicitations/home/25

3)  A new Gabriel Award packet of entry procedures, categories and descriptions is available in PDF format. to download packet click here


Ready to Enter?

The program opens the first week of January to accept submissions.

Click here to submit to the CPA Gabriel Awards.

Open Period Dates Extension period closing date
January 2 – February 4, 2018 February 5 – February 11, 2018 February 11, 2018
$175 Entry fee -Same rate as last year $195 Entry fee  
$160 Entry fee-CPA member rate    


We look forward to seeing your work!!!


For additional information, please contact E: cpaawards@catholicpress.org  P: 312-361-0256